"I didn't know that a water elemental COULD be set on fire."
After nominally beating the Kobold King and his minions (see yesterday's doodle) our group THOUGHT we could just leave the dungeon complex. However, we found the exit was blocked by a Huge fire elemental. So, battered though we were, we had one more big fight to get through before we could actually rest.
Somewhere along the line, we'd picked up an item that let us summon a water elemental and we figured it would be a great way to counter the opposition. However, our elemental was only medium size ... so we knew it wouldn't completely turn the tables.
Still, we were surprised when it walked into battle, got hit by the fire elemental, and failed a save, that our water elemental was now "on fire." We were SO surprised that we spent the next 10 minutes or more flipping through various rule books to see if it was POSSIBLE for a creature made entirely of water to BE on fire ... and eventually we realized that nowhere was there any rule that would PREVENT such a thing from happening. So, indeed, the water elemental WAS on fire.
That is something you don't see every day.